Monday, May 4, 14:30 – 18:00

Shaping the vertical industry in 2025

It is an era of digitalization and transformation of industry factory with 5G technologies to relax people from hard working. Emerging new technologies include but not limited to URLLC, V2X, high-accuracy positioning, intelligent sensing, massive IOTs, and low power IOTs. It is predictive that 2025 is a suitable time to widely commercialize the vertical industry. However, the challenge still exists in reaching the KPIs such as low latency, high reliability, high accuracy positioning, and massive connections. This workshop is to discuss the promising issues on vertical industry.

Presenter Bio: Dr. Peiying Zhu (Chair) is a Huawei Fellow. She is currently leading 5G wireless system research in Huawei. The focus of her research is advanced wireless access technologies with more than 150 granted patents. She has been regularly giving talks and panel discussions on 5G vision and enabling technologies. She served as the guest editor for IEEE Signal processing magazine special issue on the 5G revolution and co-chaired for various 5G workshops. She is actively involved in IEEE 802 and 3GPP standards development. She is currently a WiFi Alliance Board member. Prior to joining Huawei in 2009, Peiying was a Nortel Fellow and Director of Advanced Wireless Access Technology in the Nortel Wireless Technology Lab. She led the team and pioneered research and prototyping on MIMO-OFDM and Multi-hop relay. Many of these technologies developed by the team have been adopted into LTE standards and 4G products.

Presenter Bio: Dr. Thomas Haustein (Panelist) received the Dr.-Ing. (Ph.D.) degree in mobile communications from the University of Technology Berlin, Germany, in 2006. In 1997, he was with the Fraunhofer Institute for Telecommunications, Heinrich Hertz Institute (HHI), Berlin, where he was involved in wireless infrared systems and radio communications with multiple antennas and OFDM. He was also involved in real-time algorithms for baseband processing and advanced multiuser resource allocation. From 2006 to 2008, he was with Nokia Siemens Networks, where he conducted research on 4G. Since 2009, he has been the Head of the Wireless Communications Department, Fraunhofer HHI, and is currently involved in research on 5G and industrial wireless. He led several national and European funded projects on the topics of Cognitive Radio and Millimeter Wave Technology. He was and is active in several H2020 5GPPP projects. He has been serving as an Academic Advisor to NGMN since 2012 and contributes to 3GPP standardization since 2015.

Presenter Bio: Prof. Joerg Widmer (panelist) is Research Professor and Research Director of IMDEA Networks in Madrid, Spain. Before, he held positions at DOCOMO Euro-Labs in Munich, Germany and EPFL, Switzerland. His research focuses on wireless networks, ranging from extremely high frequency millimeter-wave communication and MAC layer design to mobile network architectures. Joerg Widmer authored more than 150 conference and journal papers and three IETF RFCs, and holds 13 patents. He was awarded an ERC consolidator grant, the Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, a Mercator Fellowship of the German Research Foundation, a Spanish Ramon y Cajal grant, as well as eight best paper awards. He is an IEEE Fellow and Distinguished Member of the ACM.

Presenter Bio: Prof. Petar Popovski (panelist) is a Professor in Connectivity at Aalborg University, Denmark. He received his Dipl.-Ing./ Mag.-Ing. in communication engineering from Sts. Cyril and Methodius University in Skopje, R. of Macedonia, and his Ph.D. from Aalborg University. He is a Fellow of IEEE and featured in the list of Highly Cited Researchers 2018, compiled by Web of Science. He received an ERC Consolidator Grant (2015), the Danish Elite Researcher award (2016), IEEE Fred W. Ellersick prize (2016) and IEEE Stephen O. Rice prize (2018). He is currently an Area Editor for IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications and a Steering Board member of IEEE SmartGridComm. He served as a General Chair for IEEE SmartGridComm 2018 and General Chair for IEEE Communication Theory Workshop 2019. He co-founded RESEIWE A/S, a company delivering ultra-reliable wireless solutions. His research interests are in the area of communication theory, with focus on wireless communication and networks.

Presenter Bio: Eichinger Josef (Panelist) joined Huawei Technologies in 2013 to strengthen the 5G Research team in Munich. He started his professional carrier as technical expert in the field of industry energy and electronic systems. After the study he joined Siemens AG 1994 and was working in development of high frequency radar systems, optical networks and as researcher on radio technologies as HSPA and LTE. He changed to Nokia Siemens Networks 2007 as LTE Product Manager and was head of LTE-Advanced FastTrack Programs from 2010 to end of 2012 to push forward LTE-A. Currently he is leading research on 5G enabled industrial communication in Huawei Munich Research Center. The focus are 5G for industry 4.0 and vehicle-to-vehicle communication. Complementary to the research and standardization work he is also responsible for the prove of the new concept by trials and live experiments e.g. Robot Control in the Cloud, Robot as a Service, Tele-operated Driving, etc. Since April 2018 he is also member of the 5G-ACIA steering board and leading the Huawei delegation.

Presenter Bio: Dr. Mehdi Bennis is an Associate Professor at the Centre for Wireless Communications, University of Oulu, Finland, an Academy of Finland Research Fellow and head of the intelligent connectivity and networks/systems group (ICON). His main research interests are in radio resource management, heterogeneous networks, game theory and machine learning in 5G networks and beyond. He has co-authored one book and published more than 200 research papers in international conferences, journals and book chapters. He has been the recipient of several prestigious awards including the 2015 Fred W. Ellersick Prize from the IEEE Communications Society, the 2016 Best Tutorial Prize from the IEEE Communications Society, the 2017 EURASIP Best paper Award for the Journal of Wireless Communications and Networks, the all-University of Oulu award for research, In 2019 Dr Bennis received the IEEE ComSoc Radio Communications Committee Early Achievement Award.

%d bloggers like this: